Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Problems with structural mechanics model

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

Unlike most users, I am not an engineer, I am a geophysicist and want to study stresses resulting from an earthquake!

I am trying to simulate a model related to slip between two subdomains. My model needs to involve 2 steps and I will describe it in some details without being too overwhelming.

My model is related to a geologic setting where 2 Earth "subdomians" (ocean crust and continental crust with different material properties such as Young's modulus and density) are in contact and the ocean crust slips against the continental crust; that makes it a structural mechanics problem with contact pairs. The model is 3 subdomians: the bottom subdomain is the earth mantle the middle is the ocean crust and the top is the continental crust. The boundary between the ocean and the mantle is identity pair because they should move together.

First, I need to simulate the pre-existing load/stress of the earth. To do this I applied the gravity and density as subdomain conditions and I used the parametric solver to apply this load gradually. I also introduced "springs" between the different subdomains and boundaries to hold the geometry together. This approach has been recommended to me by a previous COMSOL user who simulated a similar problem and this is known to be the appropriate approach (this has been the proposed solution to that user by comsol support representatives.).