Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Using Prescribed displacement for Contact Pairs.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello Every one,

I am a Graduate student and trying to work out a problem where a thin bendable chip is to be fitted onto a curved(Convex) base.
I am using Structural Mechanics Module .I have tried to do this problem with a small initial contact between the curved base and the chip.But I am not satisfied with the results as there is a variation in stress behaviour near the end with and initial contact.[See attached File (convexbase_r5.mph) ].

I asked the COMSOL support regarding this and they recommended me to use PRESCRIBED DISPLACEMENT .
I have tried to implement the Prescribed displacement but i am not getting the idea about how to give the range of displacements . [See attached file (convexbase_r5_pdisp.mph)]

I want to give a prescibed displacement to the left side of flat chip (this edge has a symmetry condition too) a symmetry condition) the current placement is at y=0.32mm and I want to move it till y=0.2 mm so that i get it fixed onto the convex base.

Can any one please help me about how can I implement this for prescribed displacement ? Hints and suggestions are appreciated.

Also, I am trying to use the Prescribed Displacement for boundary. is this the right one or should I use the one for pairs.

Best Regards,
Irfan Malik

10 Replies Last Post Aug 31, 2011, 6:06 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 30, 2011, 4:39 a.m. EDT
Hi

there a few issues I do not fully catch in your model.