Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Conjugate heat transfer Interface boundary condition

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello All,

I am new to COMSOL. I am trying to solve a 3-D conjugate heat transfer problem with volumetric heat generation in the solid domain. The problem is more like solving for a temperature profile in a heat exchanger. how and what should be the boundary condition applied for the fluid-solid interface?

rgds

Anup

11 Replies Last Post Aug 10, 2016, 11:32 p.m. EDT
Nagi Elabbasi Facebook Reality Labs

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 2, 2012, 8:09 a.m. EDT
COMSOL imposes temperature continuity at the fluid-structure boundary in a conjugate heat transfer problem. There is no need for a different thermal boundary condition there. That boundary condition accounts directly for heat loss from the solid through conduction and the fluid flow that results accounts for convection.

Nagi Elabbasi
Veryst Engineering
COMSOL imposes temperature continuity at the fluid-structure boundary in a conjugate heat transfer problem. There is no need for a different thermal boundary condition there. That boundary condition accounts directly for heat loss from the solid through conduction and the fluid flow that results accounts for convection. Nagi Elabbasi Veryst Engineering

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 3, 2012, 1:45 a.m. EDT
thanks ....thanks a lot.

rgds

Anup
thanks ....thanks a lot. rgds Anup

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 4, 2012, 6:03 a.m. EST
Daer Nagi